Segments in this Video

Introduction: In Search of Mozart: Part Two (00:54)


At 27, Mozart had finally achieved success, blazing a trail as a freelance composer and performer.

Austrian Enlightenment (02:33)

When Mozart came to Vienna, Enlightenment ideas were taking hold under Joseph II. The emerging middle class gave him a market for prescription concerts.

Performer (01:07)

An expert says Forman's "Amadeus" was inaccurate, but correctly presents him as a performer.

Personal Life and Mass in C Minor (02:42)

Mozart gambled and played billiards. Constanze was an ideal partner for Mozart; he wrote pieces for her to sing, such as the Mass in C minor.

Musical Style (01:17)

Mozart wrote music intended for publishers and fashionable gatherings. He was an urban man; there is little feeling for nature in his music.

Family and Social Life (03:50)

Hear an excerpt from a letter from Mozart to his father. When Mozart's son was born, the family moved to a bigger apartment. Experts comment on his career success and personal life.

String Quartets (01:20)

Mozart regarded Haydn as the one contemporary at his level; with his string quartets, Mozart impressed Haydn. Hear K465.

K466 (02:52)

Hear K466 concerto in D minor for keyboard. The music is restless, evoking a mass of people moving, then a single, calm individual on the piano.

The Marriage of Figaro (04:22)

Mozart met Lorenzo Da Ponte, who wrote the words to Mozart's opera music. A singer explains the "Figaro" story.

Creating Characters (04:05)

Mozart created opera characters through the notes he wrote. He brought out the beauty in the soprano voice. Singers discuss how the voice reflects the soul.

Personal Sorrows (01:18)

Mozart's infant son died, then his father; he was in a somber mood as he wrote "Don Giovanni."

"Don Giovanni" (03:33)

An expert narrates the opening of "Don Giovanni." Other experts comment on the Don Giovanni character.

Financial Difficulties (03:12)

Mozart finally attained a Vienna court post in 1787, but faced financial difficulties. War broke out; opportunities became limited.

K550 (02:03)

Hear K550, symphony in G minor no. 40, along with commentary. An expert discusses the seeming simplicity of Mozart's music.

Tour (02:05)

Mozart went abroad in 1789, perhaps feeling stifled in Vienna. Hear his letters to Constanze. His financial plight remained dire.

Cosi Fan Tutte (01:49)

Mozart and Da Ponte collaborated on "Women are all the same." The death of Joseph II cut short the opera's run; it did not solve his financial problems.

1791 (02:47)

1791 is thought of as the last year of decline in Mozart's health, spirits and creativity. Actually, Mozart was happy. Hear some of his music from that year.

"The Magic Flute" (04:47)

"The Magic Flute" takes place on a mystical and popular level, with music to fit each. Experts discuss the relation between Mozart's genius and the vulgar story.

Concerto in A for Clarinet (01:49)

Hear K622, concerto in A for clarinet. An expert rejects the idea that K622 reflects knowledge that he was dying; an Oct. 1791 letter shows no such knowledge.

Requiem in D Minor and Death (02:37)

A mysterious stranger commissioned a requiem (K626, requiem in D minor.) He fell ill in Nov. 1791 and died issuing instructions on finishing the piece.

Credits: In Search of Mozart: Part Two (01:08)

Credits: In Search of Mozart: Part Two

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or

In Search of Mozart: Part Two

Part of the Series : In Search of Mozart
DVD (Chaptered) Price: $129.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $194.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $129.95



In Search of Mozart: Part Two opens with the 27 year-old Mozart finally enjoying success. Follow Mozart's life and career from this time through his death at 35, with in-depth discussion of his operas. This film discusses his family sorrows and financial difficulties, but also his happiness. It generally rejects any romantic notions surrounding his early death or notions of a downward spiral of despair and tragic genius. (53 minutes)

Length: 53 minutes

Item#: BVL59690

ISBN: 978-1-60057-376-7

Copyright date: ©2006

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video customers.

Other Titles You Might Like